1+ 级超纯水对非专利药物开发的重要性

Client
国际制药公司
Location
欧洲

Chorus 2+ RO UV DI 15l flex 取水器1+ 级超纯水对非专利药物开发的重要性

一家总部位于欧洲的国际制药公司

随着新的分析技术和应用的发展及检出限度的不断降低,保证 1+ 级超纯水可靠和持续供应的需求不断增加。 研发实验室需要持续的高纯度水源,以确保其工作流程结果的精准度。

背景

客户是世界上最大的非专利药品公司之一,同时也是一家领先的跨国医疗公司的重要子公司。他们的业务是开发高质量的经济型药物。 该公司的研发中心设在欧洲,其业务重点是开发高质量的经济型药物。在过去二十年中,该中心稳步发展,现在承担着全球四分之一的研发任务。

超纯水是研发中的关键要素

客户的研发实验室大量使用超纯水,旨在为他们生产的药物开发和实施分析技术。 在分析流动相之前,需要进行样品制备,其中用水最密集的过程之一就是溶解研究。 将片剂溶解于类似于人胃中的溶液中时,每份样品至少使用 1.5 升超纯水。

然后在不同的溶解水平下进行 HPLC 和 LCMS 分析测试,以研究对药物的影响。 含有
超纯水和乙腈或甲醇等其他组分混合物的缓冲液将应用于此流动相。在此期间,实验室每天运行 100 台 HPLC 系统 8 小时,因此对超纯水的需求量巨大。 最后,非关键任务中也会用到水,如玻璃器皿和工作台的清洗。
客户的分析开发主管评论道: “我们依赖多种高度敏感的分析技术,因此需要确保水质得到绝对的保障。 有人担心,我们现有的系统无法保证这一点,甚至可能损害我们的结果。”

保证水纯度是强制性要求

根据标准操作程序和药典标准,提供电阻率达到 18.2 MΩ .cm 的最佳纯度水是对开发中心的强制性要求。 这一严格要求旨在不折不扣地确保数据的纯净度。 实验室在研究工作中使用 ICP-MS、HPLC、GC-MS 等高端分析技术和其他关键应用。 这些技术以 ppb 或 ppt 级别测量溶液中的微量元素,因此所用的高纯度水不得含有离子杂质,且总有机碳(TOC)值 <5 ppb。
在 PURELAB® Chorus 之前,实验室供水依赖的是单个去离子组件的使用终端超纯水系统。 这种方法存在微量弱离子可能进入工作流程并影响结果精准度的风险。

PureSure® 可保证水的最佳纯度,并避免工作中断

借助经充分验证的 PURELAB Chorus 1 分析研究型号配备 Halo Flexible 取水器,科学家们能够方便地将水分配到任何大小的容器中,并可接收有关无机水纯度和 TOC 的实时反馈。 PureSure 系统设计包括两个去离子组件和两者之间的水质传感器。 这可确保第一个组件中可能泄漏的任何微量无机杂质在第二个组件中被去除掉。 在第一个组件将达到饱和时,两个纯度传感器可通过非侵入式视觉警报提供早期预警。 PureSure 让客户确信可以随时获得最高质量的水,并且去离子组件可以在不中断重要工作的情况下进行更换。


“PURELAB Chorus 适合我们的工作,因为它的设计重点是提供最佳纯度,即以我们 SOP 的要求为准,同时界面简单易用。 我们确信始终可以得到对我们的应用至关重要的纯净水。” 分析开发部主管。

Importance of ultrapure Type 1+ water for the development of generic medicines

Client
International Pharmaceutical Company
Location
Europe

IChorus 2+ RO UV DI 15l flex dispensermportance of ultrapure Type 1+ water for the development of generic medicines

An International Pharmaceutical Company based in Europe

The need to guarantee delivery of ultrapure type 1+ water reliably and consistently is ever increasing as new analytical techniques and applications evolve with lower detection limits. Research and development laboratories require a constant source of high purity water to ensure the accuracy of results in their workflow.

Background

The customer is one of the largest generics companies in the world and an important subsidiary of a leading multinational healthcare company, developing high-quality and affordable pharmaceuticals. The European-based Development Center is focussed on creating high-quality and affordable pharmaceuticals, and in the last two decades, has grown steadily and is responsible for a quarter of global development activities.

Ultrapure water is a key component in research and development

The customer uses large volumes of ultrapure water in their research and development laboratories to develop and carry out analytical techniques for the drugs they produce. Before the mobile phase of analysis, sample preparation is conducted, this is one of the most water-intensive processes is the study of dissolution. Tablets are dissolved in a solution similar to that found in the human stomach, using at least 1.5 liters of ultrapure water for each sample.

Analytical tests using HPLC and LCMS are then conducted at varying levels of dissolution to study the effect on the drug. Buffers containing a
mixture of ultrapure water and other components, such as Acetonitrile or Methanol, are used in this mobile phase, during which the laboratory runs 100 HPLC systems for eight hours per day placing a large demand on ultrapure water. Finally, water is also used for less critical tasks such as glassware and bench washing.
The Head of Analytical Development commented: “We rely on multiple highly sensitive analytical techniques, so we need to ensure that the quality of water is never interrupted. There was some concern that our existing systems could not guarantee this, possibly even compromising our results”

Guaranteed water purity is a mandatory requirement

The availability of optimal purity water with a quality of 18.2 MΩ.cm resistivity is a mandatory requirement for the Development Center, in-line with Standard Operating Procedure and Pharmacopoeia Standards. This strict requirement ensures clean data without compromise. The laboratory uses high-end analytical techniques such as ICP-MS, HPLC, GC-MS and other critical applications used in research work. These techniques measure elements in solution at trace levels in the ppb or ppt range and therefore rely on high purity water free from ionic impurities and with a Total Organic Carbon (TOC) value of < 5 ppb.
Prior to the arrival of PURELAB® Chorus, the laboratory was using ultrapure point-of-use polisher systems that rely on a single deionization pack to provide water. There was a risk that trace levels of weak ions could enter the workflow affecting the accuracy of results.

PureSure® guarantees optimal purity and avoids downtime

The introduction of the fully validated PURELAB Chorus 1 Analytical Research model fitted with a Halo Flexible dispenser allows the scientists to conveniently dispense water into any size container and receive real-time feedback relating to inorganic water purity and TOC. The PureSure system design incorporates two deionization packs and a quality sensor between them. This ensures that any trace levels of inorganic impurity that may escape the first pack are removed by the second pack. The two purity sensors give an early indication of when the first pack is reaching capacity by providing a non-invasive visual alarm. PureSure provides confidence to the customer that they are receiving the highest quality of water at all times, and that deionization packs can be changed without interrupting vital work time.


“PURELAB Chorus is suited to our work because its design focuses on delivering the optimal purity, defined as a requirement of our SOP, while providing an easy to use interface. We know that we will always be getting the purity of water that is essential to our applications”. Head of Analytical Development.